Although misdemeanors are not serious felonies, a conviction can still have an unbelievable impact on your life. A misdemeanor charge will show up on your record and can affect your employment opportunities.
A misdemeanor in the state of Florida is any crime punishable by up to one year in county jail. There are two types of misdemeanors that the state of Florida recognizes. The first one being, first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable up to the full year in the county jail and a $1,000.00 fine. The second misdemeanor is punishable up to sixty (60) days in jail, a fine of $500.00, and or six (6) months of probation. Judges in the state of Florida often impose sentencing using a combination of the available punishments. Some crimes are misdemeanors the first or second time you are convicted, but repeat offenses may lead to felony charges with prison sentences that may exceed a year.
Battery can have an impact on custody cases and can be considered if someone is seeking an injunction for protection.
Crimes of dishonesty such as Petit Theft may seem trivial but they can be used against someone because they are considered "Crimes of Dishonesty" which is a factor for a jury in determining the creditbility of witnesses.
Florida Statute 316.193, DUI is a very complicated criminal charge that needs an experienced lawyer. With breathalyzer machines, video taped testing, urine and blood testing just to name a few things, DUI can have more scientific testimony than a murder trial!
There are different types of crimes which are considered misdemeanors.
•Shoplifting UNDER $300.00
•Solicitation for prostitution
•Possession of marijuana, under twenty (20) grams
•Possession of Paraphernalia
•Domestic Violence/Spousal Abuse
•Assault & Battery
•DUI Drunk Driving
•Driving While License Suspended or Revoked